Zebracadabra

PT dying.

Wed Jun 15, 2016 12:14 pm

This site is dying. Apparently near totally abandoned at this point.

I'd like to make a suggestion that we can meet up on Slack. From there, individual threads can be created and even tourney dome threads. I'm not starting anything myself, just offering an idea.

biffpow

Re: PT dying.

Wed Jun 15, 2016 7:29 pm

This site is dying. Apparently near totally abandoned at this point.

I'd like to make a suggestion that we can meet up on Slack. From there, individual threads can be created and even tourney dome threads. I'm not starting anything myself, just offering an idea.
Great suggestion! I've never used it before--anyone have familiarity with this?

Alternately, we could create a reddit thread--"Pocket Tactics" is not being used. Do people here use reddit? I'm the same username there as here.

And I don't think the site is abandoned exactly, but it's in trouble at the moment. Apparently, Dave posted a "farewell" letter to the site this weekend which was rapidly taken down. This may mean a) that he reconsidered, or b) that The Powers That Be (TPTB) yanked the posting so as not to cause alarm among users and advertisers.

I suspect it is B, sadly. And the fact that TPTB haven't posted anything since is rather emblematic of the ills that have befallen PT. One of PT's greatest attributes was how transparent it has always been with its readers.

But I'm straying into a rant here..... :roll:

Zebracadabra

Wed Jun 15, 2016 7:41 pm

Not familiar with Reddit although my kid has sent me there a few times. Slack may be friendlier and the app has been updated several times recently. A bunch of the QT3 guys are using it and we even have a thread devoted to playing Codenames with about 15 playing.

geigerm

Wed Jun 15, 2016 7:43 pm