admin
Site Admin

There and Back Again: A Civilization 4 Story

Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:00 pm

I’ve been playing the same game for the past two months. The settings never change: Tectonics: 70% Water (Earthlike), Normal Climate, Civilization: Random.

http://www.strategygamer.com/articles/c ... longevity/

ratster

Re: <t>There and Back Again: A Civilization 4 Story</t>

Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:20 pm

Interesting. I have a similar experience with CIV III, which I was just playing last night. I have a high end PC, and in fact own IV, V & V and can easily play them(hardware wise), but I keep coming back to III.

I just use the quick start to begin a new game with the same settings as the previous (random for everything except map size, always set to huge).

Then newer iterations just never seemed to hit the right tempo for me.

RexBellator

Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:38 pm

I know I'm just shy of a year late with a response here but in my defense I only just recently came across this article after it was (re)posted on the /r/4xgaming subreddit.

I can appreciate the author's waxing nostalgic for Civ IV, I too like to revisit the older Civs for their faster gameplay unladen by the cruft the newer games force you to engage in, but despite my occasional nostalgic rendezvous with Civs III and IV, I also find myself missing the newer features that genuinely improve the game (1UPT, hex tiles, etc.).

What I find telling about this article is how the author gives Civ VI short shrift for zooming through the cultural tree (I assume they played Greece or some other cultural power house?) but conveniently omits Civ IV's own shortcuts, like bee-lining literature and the Great Library which lets you slingshot into later eras quickly with major boosts to science thanks to Great Scientists.